RI Hospital earns Beacon Award


Rhode Island Hospital among first in the US to earn Beacon Award for nursing excellence on medical-surgical unit

First hospital in region, fourth nationally, to win Beacon Award on medical-surgical unit

– Rhode Island Hospital has earned a second Beacon Award for nursing excellence from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN). The silver award was conferred to the medical-surgical unit on the third floor of the Cooperative Care Center in recognition of meeting or exceeding national quality standards for improved patient outcomes and for a healthy work environment. The unit on CCC3 is only the fourth medical-surgical unit in the U.S., and the only one in New England, to receive this award. The hospital's first Beacon Award was given to the cardiothoracic intensive care unit in 2010 and 2011.

"Receiving the Beacon Award for nursing excellence on a second unit – and being among the first four medical-surgical units in the country to receive this recognition – is truly something our nursing staff should be proud of," said Timothy J. Babineau, M.D., president of Rhode Island Hospital and president and chief executive officer of Lifespan. "This award demonstrates that the American Association of Critical Care Nurses recognizes Rhode Island Hospital's commitment to excellence, our dedication to providing the highest quality nursing care, and our focus on the patient care experience."

The silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence signifies continuous learning and effective systems to achieve optimal patient care. The unit staff earned its silver award by meeting the following evidence-based Beacon Award for Excellence criteria:

•    Leadership structures and Systems
•    Appropriate staffing and staff engagement
•    Effective communication, knowledge management, learning and development
•    Evidence-based practice and processes
•    Outcome measurement

"The nursing staff at Rhode Island Hospital are dedicated professionals who strive every day to provide the best possible medical care to our patients, and support for their families," said Barbara Riley, RN, MS, NEA-BC, Rhode Island Hospital's senior vice president and chief nursing officer. "We are honored to be among the first medical-surgical units in the country to receive this award, and appreciate the AACN's recognition of nursing excellence."

AACN President Vicki Good, RN, MSN, CENP, applauds the commitment of the caregivers at Rhode Island Hospital for working together to meet and exceed the high standards set forth by the Beacon Award for Excellence. These dedicated health care professionals join other members of the exceptional community of nurses who set the standard for optimal patient care.

"The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes caregivers in stellar units whose consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care optimizes patient outcomes. Units that receive this national recognition serve as role models to others on their journey to excellent patient and family care," Good explained..

Units that achieve this three-year, three-level award with a gold, silver or bronze designation meet national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

The AACN now allows any hospital unit on which a patient receives principal nursing care after hospital admission to apply for the Beacon Award. In the past, only adult and pediatric critical care units and progressive care units were eligible. The award includes three levels so that a unit can chart its excellence journey over time. Bronze, silver and gold recipients receive a three-year designation.