Cybersecurity Commission announces members

Cybersecurity Commission Announces Members  

- Governor Gina M. Raimondo, along with Scott DePasquale, CEO of Utilidata and the chair of the new Cybersecurity Commission, today announced the Commission members who will develop a clear strategy to make Rhode Island more secure against cyber threats and create new jobs in the cybersecurity sector.

"Cyber-attacks have the potential to impact everything we do, from protecting the health and safety of Rhode Islanders to growing our economy," said Governor Raimondo. "I am grateful to the new Commission members for offering their time and expertise to ensure Rhode Island is secure from cyber threats and identify economic development opportunities in the cybersecurity field. I expect robust discussion and bold ideas that will demonstrate Rhode Island is a leader in this growing sector."

"Governor Raimondo's commitment to addressing our state cybersecurity challenges has attracted nationally recognized experts, including Rhode Islanders, to serve on this Commission," said DePasquale. "We look forward to bringing our collective expertise together to help build a path forward for Rhode Island in the cyber sector and serve as an example for other cities and states around the country on this important issue."

Since the May signing of the Executive Order establishing the Commission, which met for the first time today to set goals and a timeline for their work, the following members have been appointed to the Commission:

•    Gil Bishop, Chief Information Security Officer, Amica

•    R. Adm. Michael Brown (USN Ret.), Vice President of Public Security, RSA

•    Matt Cullina, Chief Executive Officer, IDT911

•    Stephanie Douglas, Senior Director of Corporate Security, Pacific Gas & Electric

•    Teresa Durocher, Director, Information Security & Technology Risk, Fidelity Investments

•    Victor Fay-Wolfe, Ph.D, Professor, University of Rhode Island

•    Suma Gaddam, Chief Information Officer, Care New England

•    Peter Gaynor, Director, Rhode Island Emergency Management Agency

•    Thom Guertin, Chief Digital Officer, Rhode Island Office of Digital Excellence

•    Vlad Ibarra, Deputy Director, Providence Emergency Management Agency

•    B. Gen. Jim Jaeger (USAF ret.), Chief Cyber Services Strategist, Fidelis Cybersecurity

•    Chuck LoCurto, Chief Information Officer, Bryant University

•    Molly Magee, Executive Director, Senedia

•    Macky McCleary, Director, Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation

•    Mark Munkacsy, Senior Engineering Fellow, Raytheon Integrated Defense Systems

•    Ray Musser, Vice President Global Security Operations (retired), General Dynamics

•    Col. Steven O'Donnell, Superintendent, Rhode Island State Police

•    Stefan Pryor, Secretary of Commerce, Rhode Island Executive Office of Commerce

•    Derek Reveron, Professor of National Security Affairs, United States Naval War College

•    John Savage, Professor of Computer Science, Brown University

•    Francesca Spidalieri, Senior Fellow for Cyber Leadership, Salve Regina University 

•    Col. James Vartanian, Director, Plans, Operations, & Training, Rhode Island National Guard

•    Doug White, Director of Applied Networking and Security, Roger Williams University 

•    David Wilga, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Rhode Island Airport Corporation 

•    Graham Wright, Chief Information Security Officer, National Grid

For more information on the Cybersecurity Commission, please visit:

(release from Governor's Office)